Short History of Kaya Village
Kayaköy (Kaya Village) was once a Greek speaking village known as Karmylassos. Up until 1923 it was inhabited by Greek speaking Christians. It was built in the 18th century but was devastated by an earthquake in 1856 and a major fire in 1885. After the Greco – Turkish war, Kayaköy was largely abandoned after the population exchange agreement was signed by the Turkish and Greek governments in 1923. Many of the buildings were left empty, however, there are now a selection of houses which have been restored, and are currently occupied. The area is of sole historical value and protected by the Turkish government.
Once described as ‘a Hidden Gem’ Kaya Village is a wondrous place full of culture, history and nature. You would really have to be here to appreciate just how soothing this extraordinary place really is. Over the pine covered hills is the enchanting “ghost village” a crumbling village which is extremely pleasant, in a wonderful setting amidst the orchards and fields. The views of the mountains and nearby sea are truly amazing. There are now more restaurants and activities within Kaya Village itself, however Kaya village lies a short distance from the bustling and popular resorts of Fethiye, Olu Deniz and Hisaronu.
Oludeniz & Fethiye
Oludeniz is well known for the famous blue lagoon and paragliding. Fethiye is a busy harbour town full of great shops, restaurants and bars.
Hisaronu & Gemiler Beach
Hisaronu is well known for it's late nights and party spirit unlike Gemiler Beach which is set amongst the stunning back drop of green mountains.
The dolmus (local bus service) runs from outside Avalon Steppes at regular intervals with access to Gemiler Beach (6km), Fethiye, Oludeniz, Hisaronu and plenty more. Ensuring there is something for everyone of all ages